Page 1

Parent Webb Will Head Crimes Tribunal News Article
Language English
Collection C.W.J. Phelps Collection
Box Box 1
Folder First Phelps Scrap Book
Repository University of Virginia Law Library
Webb Will Head Crimes Tribunal Other Nominees For War Trials appointed TOKYO (INS) – Sir William Flood Webb of Australia has been named president of the International Military Tribunal for the trial of war crime suspects in Japan. In announcing Sir William’s appointment, General MacArthur also appointed the nominees of the various nations who signed the Japanese surrender terms in Tokyo Bay Sept. 2. They are: Justice E. Stuart McDougall of Canada, Ju-Ao Meo of China, Henri Reimburger of France, Prof. Bernard Victor A. Roling, of the Netherlands, Justice Erima Harvey Northcroft of New Zealand, Justice I. M. Zaryanov of Russia, Lord Patrick of the United Kingdom and Justice John P. Higgins of the United States. SCAP’s announcement of the appointments pointed out they were made “In order to implement the instrument of surrender . . . . . and the furtherance of Article 2 of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East. . . . “